• Categories
Collapse

The Silver Fern

Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Rugby Matches
allblacksaustralia
1.4k Posts 81 Posters 31.3k Views
Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October
    • Oldest to Newest
    • Newest to Oldest
    • Most Votes
Reply
  • Reply as topic
Log in to reply
This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
  • nzzpN Online
    nzzpN Online
    nzzp
    replied to NTA on last edited by
    #1333

    @NTA said in Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October:

    @Kirwan said in Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October:

    Video ref should make very few mistakes. No excuses.

    But he didn't make a mistake.

    Shuold run a poll on this and Rieko in Bled 1.

    I'm a Try/Try kinda guy.

    Sounds like you're a Nope/Nope dude. Amazing how we can all watch the same thing and reach such differnt conclusions.

    Also, you're wrong 🙂

    ACT CrusaderA 1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • ACT CrusaderA Do not disturb
    ACT CrusaderA Do not disturb
    ACT Crusader
    replied to nzzp on last edited by
    #1334

    @nzzp said in Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October:

    @NTA said in Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October:

    @Kirwan said in Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October:

    Video ref should make very few mistakes. No excuses.

    But he didn't make a mistake.

    Shuold run a poll on this and Rieko in Bled 1.

    I'm a Try/Try kinda guy.

    Sounds like you're a Nope/Nope dude. Amazing how we can all watch the same thing and reach such differnt conclusions.

    Also, you're wrong 🙂

    Not all eye patches are the same colour...

    1 Reply Last reply
    3
  • MajorRageM Offline
    MajorRageM Offline
    MajorRage
    replied to NTA on last edited by
    #1335

    @NTA said in Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October:

    @antipodean said in Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October:

    In case I haven't said this before - Angus Gardner is a clown.

    AFG also said "double movement" last time out so let's not put too much stock in any words coming out of his mouth.

    From https://laws.worldrugby.org/?law=21
    The ball can be grounded in in-goal:

    • By holding it and touching the ground with it; or
    • By pressing down on it with a hand or hands, arm or arms, or the front of the player’s body from waist to neck.

    Yes, so they're debating whether he's pressing it down - which most of the time means the ball is on the ground in-goal and they're just literally putting their hand on it (which you can do from touch-in-goal tho not a lot of people understand the difference there).

    Their issue must have been around the fact the ball is still moving and therefore whether he is holding it or not. He isn't by definition, so then is he in constant contact to press it down. The motion of the ball compared to his arm suggests it wasn't but at the same time, there was no clear separation.

    Yet another edge case the Laws don't cover, really.

    The most fucked up thing of 2020 (and it has some serious competition) is that I was really interested in your (NTA, The Aussie) view on this one ...

    Surely, if you touch the ball on the way down and you continue to touch it until it's forced, then that must be deemed as control, and hence a try should be awarded.

    NTAN 1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • NTAN Offline
    NTAN Offline
    NTA
    replied to MajorRage on last edited by
    #1336

    @MajorRage yep. Effectively you're holding it at that point and continuous contact becomes a try

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • MajorRageM Offline
    MajorRageM Offline
    MajorRage
    replied to reprobate on last edited by
    #1337

    @reprobate said in Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October:

    The interpretation is that the two differently worded laws are there for different situations. One where the ball is on the ground already and you push down it, one where you are carrying the ball.
    Coles controlled the ball with it in the air, not on the ground, so pushing down is not sufficient. At that point he needs to hold it and touch the ground with it, which he didn't.
    It's an unusual situation for sure, and confusing due to the disparity with a normal knock-on. Rule should probably be changed, but I have no issue with the ruling.

    Sorry to answer with 5 questions ...

    Is it? Did he knock it on before he forced it? Isn't that all that matters? And if not, why not?

    R boobooB 2 Replies Last reply
    0
  • R Offline
    R Offline
    reprobate
    replied to MajorRage on last edited by
    #1338

    @MajorRage key word is holding, and he was no longer holding it - holding implies control, which is why the refs and comms use that word, despite it not being in the rules. Whereas a knock on is not a knock on if you lose control i.e. not holding, and then regain it before it touches ground or opposition.
    Probably explained that poorly.

    MajorRageM P nostrildamusN 3 Replies Last reply
    1
  • MajorRageM Offline
    MajorRageM Offline
    MajorRage
    replied to reprobate on last edited by
    #1339

    @reprobate said in Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October:

    @MajorRage key word is holding, and he was no longer holding it - holding implies control, which is why the refs and comms use that word, despite it not being in the rules. Whereas a knock on is not a knock on if you lose control i.e. not holding, and then regain it before it touches ground or opposition.
    Probably explained that poorly.

    Is the rule different for field of play vs in-goal though?

    If in general play you dive for a ball, don't control it and it goes backwards and ends up with your hand on the ball on the ground, the ref will yell out "backwards" and the game moves on. Is it different in the in-goal?

    My overall opinion really is that Coles cost the try by not celebrating. His face had "I didn't score that" written all over it ...

    voodooV 1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • P Offline
    P Offline
    pakman
    replied to number9 on last edited by
    #1340

    @number9 said in Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October:

    @pakman said in Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October:

    @cgrant said in Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October:

    After a rewatch, the ABs scrum fared much better when Hodgman and Lomax came in (or was it when Ala'atoa and Slipper went off ?). They won two penalties and there were no more resets. I don't remember who on this forum who wrote that Hodgman got monstered at least one time by Tupou. In that peculiar scrum, after being caught initially, Hodgman stood up and drove forward to win his contest against Tupou.

    Rob Simmons came on after 45. The scrum was at 66.40. Hodgman's toenails were the only thing touching dirt.
    I thought Oz scrum had slight advantage in first half, with Slipper giving Ofa a few problems. Exacerbated by NZ loosies dropping off on Oz ball. Fine on ours.

    I don't know which game you were watching mate, but your scrum got monstored all day long. Tupou got pinged rightly so in the second half. He got dominated it is as simple as that. AB Forwards have brought the mongrel since the Wellington Test and the Aussies look pathetic.

    I'm an AB supporter.

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • P Offline
    P Offline
    pakman
    replied to reprobate on last edited by
    #1341

    @reprobate said in Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October:

    @MajorRage key word is holding, and he was no longer holding it - holding implies control, which is why the refs and comms use that word, despite it not being in the rules. Whereas a knock on is not a knock on if you lose control i.e. not holding, and then regain it before it touches ground or opposition.
    Probably explained that poorly.

    If he touches ball in mid air and isn't touching it as it hits ground it's a knock on.

    If he loses control after touching ball but IS in contact immediately before and as it hits the ground it's a try.

    No requirement for CONTINUOUS control.

    1 Reply Last reply
    1
  • voodooV Offline
    voodooV Offline
    voodoo
    replied to MajorRage on last edited by
    #1342

    @MajorRage said in Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October:

    @reprobate said in Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October:

    @MajorRage key word is holding, and he was no longer holding it - holding implies control, which is why the refs and comms use that word, despite it not being in the rules. Whereas a knock on is not a knock on if you lose control i.e. not holding, and then regain it before it touches ground or opposition.
    Probably explained that poorly.

    Is the rule different for field of play vs in-goal though?

    If in general play you dive for a ball, don't control it and it goes backwards and ends up with your hand on the ball on the ground, the ref will yell out "backwards" and the game moves on. Is it different in the in-goal?

    My overall opinion really is that Coles cost the try by not celebrating. His face had "I didn't score that" written all over it ...

    It's a shame, but this is absolutely valid and I totally agree

    1 Reply Last reply
    1
  • boobooB Online
    boobooB Online
    booboo
    replied to antipodean on last edited by
    #1343

    @antipodean said in Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October:

    In case I haven't said this before - Angus Gardner is a clown.

    From https://laws.worldrugby.org/?law=21
    The ball can be grounded in in-goal:

    • By pressing down on it

    Who said "downward pressure" didn't exist.

    1 Reply Last reply
    1
  • boobooB Online
    boobooB Online
    booboo
    replied to Machpants on last edited by
    #1344

    @Machpants said in Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October:

    bollaux!

    Awesome word.

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • boobooB Online
    boobooB Online
    booboo
    replied to MajorRage on last edited by booboo
    #1345

    @MajorRage said in Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October:

    @reprobate said in Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October:

    The interpretation is that the two differently worded laws are there for different situations. One where the ball is on the ground already and you push down it, one where you are carrying the ball.
    Coles controlled the ball with it in the air, not on the ground, so pushing down is not sufficient. At that point he needs to hold it and touch the ground with it, which he didn't.
    It's an unusual situation for sure, and confusing due to the disparity with a normal knock-on. Rule should probably be changed, but I have no issue with the ruling.

    Sorry to answer with 5 questions ...

    Is it? Did he knock it on before he forced it? Isn't that all that matters? And if not, why not?

    That's only four questions ...

    MajorRageM 1 Reply Last reply
    1
  • antipodeanA Offline
    antipodeanA Offline
    antipodean
    replied to NTA on last edited by
    #1346

    @NTA said in Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October:

    @antipodean said in Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October:

    In case I haven't said this before - Angus Gardner is a clown.

    AFG also said "double movement" last time out so let's not put too much stock in any words coming out of his mouth.

    From https://laws.worldrugby.org/?law=21
    The ball can be grounded in in-goal:

    • By holding it and touching the ground with it; or
    • By pressing down on it with a hand or hands, arm or arms, or the front of the player’s body from waist to neck.

    Yes, so they're debating whether he's pressing it down - which most of the time means the ball is on the ground in-goal and they're just literally putting their hand on it (which you can do from touch-in-goal tho not a lot of people understand the difference there).

    Their issue must have been around the fact the ball is still moving and therefore whether he is holding it or not. He isn't by definition, so then is he in constant contact to press it down. The motion of the ball compared to his arm suggests it wasn't but at the same time, there was no clear separation.

    Which comes back to the point the TMO (and ref) don't understand the laws of the game as written. There's no clear separation of Coles from the moment he touches the ball till it's grounded. He at no point carried the ball nor did he attempt to catch it.

    It's exactly the same if he dived on it and while it was in the air his chest touched the ball and he maintained some contact with it until it hit the ground.

    These clowns are paid enough to get this shit right. Especially as the ref conferred with his touch judge and made a ruling for which there was no clear evidence to over rule.

    1 Reply Last reply
    2
  • WingerW Offline
    WingerW Offline
    Winger
    replied to number9 on last edited by Winger
    #1347

    @number9 said in Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October:

    AB Forwards have brought the mongrel since the Wellington Test and the Aussies look pathetic

    Sad but true. I like close exciting hard fought matches.

    Aussie rugby seems to have slipped back this year. My view though is the previous coaching panel was crap towards the end. Hanson stayed on for too long and lost the plot. And Foster is better as head coach as long as he lets the likes of Plumtree do their thing. Except of course if he does something silly like bringing a Blackwell type player into the team.

    nzzpN 1 Reply Last reply
    1
  • nostrildamusN Online
    nostrildamusN Online
    nostrildamus
    replied to reprobate on last edited by
    #1348

    @reprobate said in Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October:

    @MajorRage key word is holding, and he was no longer holding it - holding implies control, which is why the refs and comms use that word, despite it not being in the rules. Whereas a knock on is not a knock on if you lose control i.e. not holding, and then regain it before it touches ground or opposition.
    Probably explained that poorly.

    So what should he do in future to avoid this sort of doubt? Wait until it stops? Touch it precisely when it touches the ground?

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • CrucialC Offline
    CrucialC Offline
    Crucial
    replied to reprobate on last edited by
    #1349

    @reprobate said in Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October:

    The interpretation is that the two differently worded laws are there for different situations. One where the ball is on the ground already and you push down it, one where you are carrying the ball.
    Coles controlled the ball with it in the air, not on the ground, so pushing down is not sufficient. At that point he needs to hold it and touch the ground with it, which he didn't.
    It's an unusual situation for sure, and confusing due to the disparity with a normal knock-on. Rule should probably be changed, but I have no issue with the ruling.

    Not as binary as you say.
    Fairly common for a bouncing ball to be forced or landed on.
    Key is separation once touched. If you bat it down then your hand/arm catches up at the ground it depends on if you batted it forward

    1 Reply Last reply
    1
  • MajorRageM Offline
    MajorRageM Offline
    MajorRage
    replied to booboo on last edited by
    #1350

    @booboo said in Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October:

    @MajorRage said in Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October:

    @reprobate said in Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October:

    The interpretation is that the two differently worded laws are there for different situations. One where the ball is on the ground already and you push down it, one where you are carrying the ball.
    Coles controlled the ball with it in the air, not on the ground, so pushing down is not sufficient. At that point he needs to hold it and touch the ground with it, which he didn't.
    It's an unusual situation for sure, and confusing due to the disparity with a normal knock-on. Rule should probably be changed, but I have no issue with the ruling.

    Sorry to answer with 5 questions ...

    Is it? Did he knock it on before he forced it? Isn't that all that matters? And if not, why not?

    That's only four questions ...

    That thing at the front of your house is a door. Open it, and take a look - there's a lot to see on the other side. Explore it. More.

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • nzzpN Online
    nzzpN Online
    nzzp
    replied to Winger on last edited by
    #1351

    @Winger said in Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October:

    Except of course if he does something silly like bringing a Blackwell type player into the team.

    doesn't need to, he's got Ardie for height.

    1 Reply Last reply
    0
  • SnowyS Offline
    SnowyS Offline
    Snowy
    replied to taniwharugby on last edited by
    #1352

    @taniwharugby said in Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October:

    @NTA said in Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October:

    The real question is about the directives provided: there was a situation where you needed some pretty good evidence to overturn an onfield decision. Where has THAT gone?

    I think it was bought up after B1 (or whichever of B1/B2 a try was disallowed which bought up same discussion) there has been a slight tweak to the TMO protocols?

    It was. World rugby adopted the TMO protocols from Super rugby for tests over a year ago. Can't be bothered finding it again.

    1 Reply Last reply
    1

Bledisloe Three: Sydney, 31 October
Rugby Matches
allblacksaustralia
  • Login

  • Don't have an account? Register

  • Login or register to search.
  • First post
    Last post
0
  • Categories
  • Login

  • Don't have an account? Register

  • Login or register to search.